Tucked away beneath the thick, dense trees along Broad Street sits the Seaquist Mansion. This sandstone structure dates back to the nineteenth century. As such, it remains one of the most stunning historical markers in Mason County.
The mansion was initially constructed in 1887 by Reverend Thomas A. Broad. Four years later, the house was sold to Edward M. Reynolds. Subsequently, Reynolds then hired a German architect to remodel the home into a larger, grander structure.
In 1919, the house was purchased by Oscar Seaquist, establishing its modern namesake and structure. The home remained in the family throughout the twentieth century. Public tours were offered on and off beginning in the 1970s.
The Seaquist Mansion features stunning stained glass windows, 22 rooms, 15 fireplaces, and a 3rd story ballroom. The massive basement running the length of the entire home which even included a wine cellar! Legend has it that the 3rd floor used to double as a poker room, and there was even a priest on hand that would absolve the gamblers in the mansion’s very own confessional room. This impressive mansion is now under the ownership of the The Seaquist House Foundation, Inc. The foundation is a nonprofit dedicated to restoring and utilizing the beautiful historical home.
The property is now available for public tours, and the profits from the tours go into further restoration with the hopes of restoring it to it’s full former glory. As such, the foundation hopes to rent out the Seaquist Mansion in the future for parties, weddings, and other major events. Their goal is to turn the spot into a prime historical attraction for tourists.